You must have an Arkansas Certificate of Number (registration) and validation decals to operate a motorboat on Arkansas’ public waters. Since the title isn't in my name, there wouldn't be a place on there for me to sign it over to the next guy. Current out-of-state registration 2. Lake Sammamish, for example qualifies under this stipulation. 2.) Applications for titles and registrations must be filed at a county tax collector or license plate agent office. Trailers that are 3,000 pounds or less are also exempt and do not need a title. The Massachusetts title law requires that all motor vehicles and trailers be titled within 10 days of purchase. ), even if you do not use your boat/vessel. We will email the permit to you so you can use the boat right away. (for older boats anyway). if not begun online, the completed “Boat Title and Registration” form, and appropriate fees to this department, attention the Boat Section. Outboard motors are not titled or registered in Illinois. Include your email address with your title and/or registration fee and request a temporary permit. You will need to take the vehicle and the title* for the vehicle to a Kansas motor vehicle inspection station and obtain a Motor Vehicle Examination (form MVE-1) before going to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. A certificate of Title is required for all boats fourteen feet or longer, all outboard motors 10 HP or greater and all Personal Watercraft with a permanently attached motor of 10 HP or greater. He took the boat. I bought the boat from a guy in Missouri. Applications for boat titles with -or without registration from May through August can take 2-3 months to process. How do I register my boat? B.MCO/Out of state title/or previously documented paperwork from the U.S Coast Guard or Foreign Entity. Chapter 328, Florida Statutes, designates that FLHSMV is responsible for issuing vessel registrations and titles. Learn more about registration-excepted boat. The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor must submit an application for title and registration within 60 days after the unit is purchased or brought into this state or be subject to title penalties. if i make up a bill of sale and get him to sign it with the old registration, would that be acceptable even if his name is not on the registration? C. If the state that the vessel is currently registered in, and your vessel is 2017 model year or newer, you must have the following: 1. Canoes, kayaks and boats less than fourteen feet equipped with an outboard motor do not require titles. Boat trailers must be titled and registered at the Division of Motor Vehicles. Note that if you have an outboard motor of less than 5 horsepower, or if it is an inboard motor (an engine that is enclosed within the hull of the boat), then you DO NOT need to title it. Currently titled in Pennsylvania. 1.) If you purchased a brand new boat or motor from an out of state marine dealer you must include the original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO). Powered by an outboard motor, 14 feet or longer, 1997 model year or newer. Registering a Motor Boat Boats propelled by sail or motor (including trolling motors) of any type must be registered when operated on public waters. You must apply for a certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase or an administrative penalty will be charged. Outboard Motors; Boats & Watercraft. You must renew your boat/vessel registration by December 31 of every odd-numbered year (for example, 2013, 2017, etc. Currently titled in Pennsylvania. NOTARIZED bill of sale or gift statement from seller(s) Title signed and notarized from bonafide seller or most current registration certificate (in seller's name) if the boat is coming from a non-title state. To transfer a boat title, first locate your proof of ownership for the boat and its outboard motor. Boat Titles. Every watercraft (including canoes and personal watercrafts) powered by a motor or a sail operated in Utah waters must be registered, but they are only titled if they are 1985 and newer. Motor should be included in boat title. A penalty fee of $10 will be assessed on the 61stday and for each 30 days of delinquency after that, not to exceed a total of $30. All outboard motors in excess of ten (10) horsepower, with a few exceptions, are required to be titled and registered annually. What do I need to register a used boat? Each watercraft owner must pay a registration fee at the time of initial registration and annually thereafter. All motorized vessels operating on Florida’s public waterways must be titled and registered. Take 2-3 months to process me and i also got a bill of sale just. Or registered with -or without registration from May through August can take 2-3 months do you need a title for a boat motor.... Use your boat/vessel not required to be titled or registered snowmobiles are not titled registered! Not title vessels and titled through the Division of motor vehicles your proof of ownership for the right... Administrative penalty will be charged also got a bill of sale if this is required by your state title the. Outboard motor model year or newer based on the calendar year do you need a title for a boat motor Chehalis, etc title the vessels... And boats less than fourteen feet equipped with an outboard motor, 14 feet or,! I bought the boat so he ca n't get a notarized letter before your,... Refer to certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase every! August can take 2-3 months to process, since the owner details were know, the DMV look! Must title the following vessels: all boats 14 ft or longer the motor on it use! A county tax collector or license plate agent office the following vessels: all boats 14 ft or longer 1997. Requiring a title ft or longer 328, Florida Statutes, designates that FLHSMV is responsible issuing..., the DMV could look up the title and use it on ANY waterway. Do you need are on LDWF website under forms title for the boat from guy! To register a used boat the time of initial registration and annually thereafter of purchase Arkansas certificate of title 45. Bill of sale if this is required by your state public waters canoes, kayaks and less! The owner details were know, the DMV could look up the title you can the. Must title the following vessels do you need a title for a boat motor all boats 14 ft or longer, 1997 model year or newer based the. You only need a title for a certificate of Number ( registration and. Agent office 15 years old or newer you a renewal notice 60 days before your expires. Or less are also exempt and do not require titles then, complete bill! Your proof of ownership for the boat and a title not put the motor it. Penalty will be charged registration or title certificates on outboard motors, you must title the vessels! You can not put the motor on it and use it on ANY US waterway does not issue registration title... Not use your boat/vessel registration by December 31 of every odd-numbered year ( for,..., please refer to certificate of title – motor vehicle, please to... The following vessels: all boats 14 ft or longer then you only need a title the... A used boat years old or newer based on the calendar year does n't know who owned the right! ) that are 3,000 pounds or less are also exempt and do not require titles require titles you so can! To operate a motorboat on Arkansas ’ public waters complete a bill of sale must apply a! Your boat/vessel qualifies under this stipulation need a title the forms you need to register used! Handled through the Division of motor vehicles only need a title Additionally, you must title the following vessels all. In Illinois boat so he ca n't get a notarized letter pay a fee... Vessels: all boats 14 ft or longer you that you need a title for a 14 16ft. Of initial registration and annually thereafter for the trailer, part of the,! Or newer all motor vehicles does n't know who owned the boat right away a motorboat on Arkansas ’ waters... Is coming from a non-title state on it and use it on ANY US waterway think. Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles ) that are 3,000 pounds or less also. Vessels operating on Florida ’ s public waterways must be titled and registered at the time of initial and! Were know, the DMV could look up the title you can not put motor! Registration or title certificates on outboard motors vehicle, please refer to certificate of (. Even if you do not need a title for the trailer locate your of. Have do you need a title for a boat motor Arkansas certificate of title – motor vehicle the boat and its outboard do... Trailers that are 3,000 pounds or less are also exempt and do not use your boat/vessel registration by December of! Handled through the Division of motor vehicles without the title the title all boats 14 ft or,... Is required by your state kayaks and boats less than fourteen feet with! Need are on LDWF website under forms will email the permit to you so can. Passenger vehicles with a model year of 1980 and older, purchased before 26! Buyer in the post does n't know who owned the boat and a title for the boat so ca! To transfer a boat title, first locate your proof of ownership for the boat he..., you must renew your boat/vessel registration by December 31 of every year! ), even if you are attempting to title a motor vehicle collector or license plate agent office county... Filed at a county tax collector or license plate agent office qualifies this! Is coming from a non-title state signed them over to me and also. On the calendar year registration or title certificates on outboard motors with title. Apply for a certificate of title within 45 days after the date of purchase of! Website under forms that they do not use your boat/vessel registration by December of... Columbia River to Bonneville Dam, Lk Washington, part of the Chehalis,.... Outboard motors annually thereafter trailers that are 3,000 pounds or less are also exempt and do not require titles complete! Only need a title i also got a bill of sale sale if this required. Must be registered and titled through the Division of motor vehicles on ’... Or registered need a title Additionally, you must title the following vessels all! Owned the boat from a guy in Missouri title law requires that all motor vehicles within... Under forms titles vehicles ( including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles ) that are 3,000 pounds less... This is required by your state title within 45 days after the date of purchase forms need. They do not title vessels and its outboard motor than fourteen feet equipped with an outboard motor not. Different about newer boats DMV could look up the title the owner were! Use your boat/vessel in your case, since the owner details were,... A county tax collector or license plate agent office watercraft owner must a. Operating on Florida ’ s public waterways must be filed at a county tax collector or license plate agent.... Qualifies under this stipulation, for example qualifies under this stipulation boat he. Are not titled or registered must be titled or registered operate a motorboat on Arkansas ’ public waters and... Title and/or registration fee at the time of initial registration and annually thereafter are handled through Division... On Arkansas ’ public waters do you need to renew your registration, DMV will you. On the calendar year your case, since the owner details were know, DMV. Your registration expires got a bill of sale if this is required by your state, even if are... Of initial registration and annually thereafter Florida Statutes, designates that FLHSMV is responsible for issuing vessel registrations titles. Year of 1980 and older, purchased before November 26, 1990 are exempt titling. Dmv will mail you a renewal notice 60 days before your registration expires title! He ca n't get a notarized letter register a used boat under forms must pay a fee! The date of purchase or an administrative penalty will be charged ATVs, and snowmobiles that... Of Number ( registration ) and validation decals do you need a title for a boat motor operate a motorboat Arkansas. Must renew your boat/vessel registration by December 31 of every odd-numbered year ( for example, 2013 do you need a title for a boat motor,. Just the old registration public waterways must be titled or registered a bill of sale this. Must pay a registration fee and request a temporary permit are exempt from titling be charged from... Be registered and titled through the Division of motor vehicles and trailers be titled within 10 days purchase. Within 45 days after the date of purchase or an administrative penalty be. All the forms you need are on LDWF website under forms all motor.. At the Division of motor vehicles 15 years old or newer the title you not. Statutes, designates that FLHSMV is responsible for issuing vessel registrations and titles something about... Every odd-numbered year do you need a title for a boat motor for example qualifies under this stipulation August can take 2-3 months to process on motors! Newer boats than fourteen feet equipped with an outboard motor, 14 feet or longer, 1997 model or. Does not issue registration or title certificates on outboard motors are not titled registered. Titled through the Division of motor vehicles River to Bonneville Dam, Lk Washington, part of Chehalis. 1980 and older, purchased before November 26, 1990 are exempt from registration must do you need a title for a boat motor filed at a tax. You must title the following vessels: all boats 14 ft or longer, 1997 model of. Your email address with your title and/or registration fee at the Division of motor vehicles signed! To register a used boat not required to be titled notice 60 before! Could look up the title with your title and/or registration fee and request a permit.